Review :: (XBLA) Dungeons & Dragons: Chronicles of Mystara

A nice trip down memory lane...

Written by

Published Monday, 08 July 2013 10:40

Write your own review !

When Microsoft introduced Xbox Live Arcade on the original Xbox, its purpose was almost solely to invite players to revisit old classics. While the service has strayed away from that focus over the past few years, and developed into one of the most interesting video game platforms out there, it’s nice to see that it’s still a great place to take a trip down video game memory lane. Dungeons and Dragons: Chronicles of Mystara may not be a familiar sounding name to all gamers of this generation, but this re-release is a perfect time to discover it.

dungeons-and-dragons-chronicles-of-mystara

D&D: Chronicles of Mystara features not one, but two games from the 1990s arcade scene: Tower of Doom, as well as its sequel, Shadow Over Mystara. Despite their old age, there is actually some fairly deep storytelling going on here. Each level plays very much like the classic, old-school 2D brawler we’re all used to, but each time one of them is completed, you get rewarded with a cutscene that progresses the story. It’s nothing groundbreaking, but it’s a nice touch that may keep the most interested ones playing.

At its heart, the game asks the player to use a combination of magic and melee attacks, each determined by a selection wheel and different characters. Each of these characters offers a different style, as well as their own finely-tuned mechanics. While an Elf could have its magical, ranged attacks perfectly mastered, a Fighter would be a stronger choice for melee combat situations. As you hack and slash your way through the enemies, you may find that switching between characters is a smarter way to progress through the game. Chronicles of Mystara also offers an RPG-like system which lets you level up each character individually, so other types of players may prefer to stick with a single persona, as they will level up quicker that way.

Dungeons-And-Dragons-Chronicles-of-Mystara-Screenshot

I wouldn’t fault anyone for simply ignoring the Tower of Doom installment in favor of Shadow Over Mystara. In fact, the two titles are so strikingly similar that it may not be worth your time to play the original, as its sequel is by far the more refined version. However, it’s always nice to be given extra content, and the most dedicated players will want to experience the whole thing. Given that both games are fairly short, it’s only natural that they would offer a ton of replayability. With the excellent co-op mode, as well as the levelling capabilities, the game certainly demands to be replayed. As you learn the intricacies of each level, master the techniques of all the characters, and learn all of your enemies’ weaknesses, you’ll be thrilled to realize how much you can get out of the game when you really take the time to master it.

On the visual side of things, it’s clear that Capcom hasn’t done much to remaster its baby. The game still runs in a 4:3, low resolution format, and the graphics, while very good for their time, certainly haven’t aged too well in this day and age. The animations retain all the charm from the arcade classics we all know and love, but they may not be received too well by less nostalgic gamers. As far as audio goes, it also appears dated. One important thing to note is that this version includes the full English language translation, as opposed to the original, Japanese-only release on the Sega Saturn, which is a nice addition.

Dungeons and Dragons Chronicles of Mystara 1

All in all, you get exactly what you can expect from Chronicles of Mystara: An excellent, old-school brawler that won’t necessarily please younger gamers, but that will almost certainly delight older, nostalgic fans. With a faithful presentation, deep gameplay, a nice storyline and great replayability, the value of the whole package will depend on your willingness to play the Tower of Doom installment, as well as your love for the original games. Don’t go in expecting a modern take on the 2D brawler, but certainly expect to take a nostalgic trip back in time.


Pros

+ A nostalgia-filled journey

+ We finally get an English translation!

+ Tight gameplay mechanics

+ Great replayability factor 

+ Surprisingly good storyline

Cons

- Dated presentation

- The price is a bit high

- Dated, less interesting first installment


Final rating
8.0 / 10
Comments
More Xbox 360 reviews
2014-11-11 :: Assassin's Creed: Rogue
2014-04-06 :: Dark Souls II
2013-11-12 :: Alien Rage
2013-09-17 :: Grand Theft Auto V
2013-09-15 :: Lost Planet 3
2013-09-13 :: Splinter Cell: Blacklist
2013-08-07 :: Grid 2
2013-07-26 :: Remember Me
2013-07-23 :: (XBLA) Sanctum 2
Special articles
GameFocus High Fives, May 2015 Week 2 Special articles

GameFocus High Fives, May 2015 Week 2

  “Top Five Unexpectedly Great Games” There is no better feeling as a gamer then when a game exceeds your expectations. Maybe it was a bargain bin purchase at a local retailer, or a title rescued from development hell that was doomed to fail, or even something that just didn’t fit your personal tastes and you took a chance on it. For the month of May, the GameFocus staff reflects on what video games they have played that were unexpectedly great! Week 2 - Tyler Hodgkinson - Staff Writer
Lire la suite...
Mailbag: May 18 - Bloodstained vs Bard's Tale Special articles

Mailbag: May 18 - Bloodstained vs Bard's Tale

 You ask - I answer: Dear Jesse,With the recent announcement of Bloodstained on Kickstarter and the upcoming campaign for Bard's Tale 4 I'm at a loss for who (whom?) to fund. Whips or swords? I've wanted to get in on a Kickstarter campaign and I'm pretty excited for both of these games but is it worth it? What if the game doesn't meet its target? Or what if I end up funding something that was lousy and I'm left with egg all over my face? Thx,Don't want to be an egg man Read more
GameFocus High Fives May 2015 Week 1 Special articles

GameFocus High Fives May 2015 Week 1

 “Top Five Unexpectedly Great Games” There is no better feeling as a gamer then when a game exceeds your expectations. Maybe it was a bargain bin purchase at a local retailer, or a title rescued from development hell that was doomed to fail, or even something that just didn’t fit your personal tastes and you took a chance on it. For the month of May, the GameFocus staff reflects on what video games they have played that were unexpectedly great! Week 1: D.J. Kinsey - Assistant Editor-in-Chief Read more
Mailbag: May 10, 2015 Special articles

Mailbag: May 10, 2015

 It's been a while, fellow gamers, and I hope you'll excuse my absence. As I write this most of my belongings are still packed in boxes (except for the PS4 and WiiU) but I am writing this from a new home and so at least one major hurdle has been crossed. In my absence we've had lots of great questions so without adieu let's get to it. Dear Jesse, I'm in my last year at high school. I'm a pretty typical guy -- I ride a horse, cut lawns for extra money, help out people where I can and hang with this girl I like. Life would be pretty ideal if not for one particular teacher -- Mr. G. -- I kind of ruined his life, but I didn't mean to. Read more

Game details
(XBLA) Dungeons & Dragons: Chronicles of Mystara
Release date : 2013-06-19
Platform :
Publisher : Capcom
Developer : Iron Galaxy Studios
Gameplay : Compilation

DLC Talk

DLC Talk: Bioshock: Burial at Sea Ep. 1

DLC Talk: Bioshock: Burial at Sea Ep. 1

Here we are. The next generation of consoles is among us and it is finally time to start thinking about finally unplugging our beloved current-gen systems. Could there be a better swan song for one of these systems than taking a trip back to Rapture?


Read more

DLC Talk: Dishonored - The Knife of Dunwall

DLC Talk: Dishonored - The Knife of Dunwall

Dishonored: The Knife of Dunwall is an impressive little bit of DLC. I should emphasize “little” though, as it is a relatively short experience. Just when the story seems to get going it ends - or, rather, it “kind of” ends.


Read more

DLC Talk: Dragon’s Dogma: Dark Arisen

DLC Talk: Dragon’s Dogma: Dark Arisen

Dragon’s Dogma was released last year on PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360.


Read more
GF Blogs

What's The Big Deal About Mortal Kombat X Anyways?

What's The Big Deal About Mortal Kombat X Anyways?

Well everyone, Mortal Kombat X is now available to be purchased (which I’m sure you have done) and if you keep up with video game news (which I’m sure you do), you would know that almost every single day in the lead up to its release, we were hearing about a new trailer, character reveal, or some sort of news regarding the upcoming game. I have to hand it to Mortal Kombat X’s marketing team, they did their job; it seems like every person on the planet is hyped about this game (which I’m sure you are).

But aside from a good marketing campaign, what’s the big deal about Mortal Kombat X anyways?


Read more

Apple's Most Personal Device - This Year

Apple's Most Personal Device - This Year

  Apple has finally lifted the curtain on the Apple Watch and, unsurprisingly, it looks good.  Maybe you're crunching the numbers to determine if you can afford the $13,000, 38mm 18-carat rose gold case edition or the $449.00 sport model.  No matter what you pick you'll need an Apple iPhone 5 or later running the latest version of iOS, so don't forget to figure that into the cost as well.  Before taking out a line of credit to buy the latest and greatest from Apple I'd recommend holding off and avoiding the April 24th release date altogether. 


Read more

Why We Need the Worst Game Ever

Why We Need the Worst Game Ever

Maybe it wouldn't have been as bad if the sales person hadn't said, "this is our most popular seller; I can barely keep it on the shelves."  My mother and I were in the only video game store in the city.  It was in the basement of a professional building and smelled like stale cigarette smoke and BO.  For passing grade five I was rewarded with a video game.  This wasn't a decision to be made lightly; this would be one of the two games I'd get all year.  I can no longer remember the game I originally wanted but I do remember the store didn't have it.  Instead, the sales person was recommending something I'd never heard of, a little game called "Mystery Quest."


Read more
GameFocus Radio

GameFocus Podcast: May 2015

GameFocus Podcast: May 2015

This time the guys weigh in on how much money they would lay down for some bat-DLC.  We keep the superhero theme running with the best games featuring men and women in colourful tights.  Things round out with a list of the games with the greatest endings ever and finally, a look at the Mortal Kombat family tree and the joy of running an island dictatorship.

Read more
GameFocus Radio

GameFocus Podcast: May 2015

GameFocus Podcast: May 2015

This time the guys weigh in on how much money they would lay down for some bat-DLC.  We keep the superhero theme running with the best games featuring men and women in colourful tights.  Things round out with a list of the games with the greatest endings ever and finally, a look at the Mortal Kombat family tree and the joy of running an island dictatorship.

Read more
GameFocus 2015 Top 10
1
Apotheon (PC)
9.4
2
Splice (PlayStation 4)
8.4
3
Hand of Fate (Xbox One)
8.0
4
8.0
5
7.8
7
Dead or Alive 5 Last Round (PlayStation 4)
7.7
8
6.6
9
6.0

facebook-follow-us

twitter1

 

Recent comments

Powered by Disqus