Review :: Namco Museum Megamix

Namco Museum Megamix

*sigh*

Written by Super User

Published Friday, 03 December 2010 00:00

Write your own review !

You know what I hate about writing a review for a compilation title? Trying to find something positive to say when there’s clearly nothing great to mention. Like the Wii didn’t have enough compilation titles to offer as it is, Namco decided to take their entire 2007 Museum Mix pack (9 original games and five remixes), add an extra remixed game (Grobda) alongside the original versions of four of the the six “remixed” titles, dump five old games, slap the “Mega” prefix and call it good.

Okay, its not like the disc is filled with disappointments. There’s Pac-Mania, Dig-Dug II, the original Pac-Man and even obscure titles like King & Balloon and Bosconian, but as a whole, the simple thought of shedding money for games that we’ve seen countless times - either on the Wii or elsewhere - would make any gamer go blind. I don’t want to turn this review into an editorialized piece but when we have something called “Digital Download”, or in this case “Wii Shop”, why not save yourself printing costs and offer the games that no one has as downloadables? I mean, if someone already has Namco Museum Mix, they would basically pay $20 for five games. That’s $2.50 a game. Not too shabby at first sight but seriously, I have a hard time believing that this marketing contraption would actually lure in some victims...although I’ve been deceived more than once before.

I’ll give this to Namco: Releasing “Megamix” three years after “Remix” might sound like a service to the gamer who may have missed out on the first compilation and couldn’t find it anywhere else. But seriously, the whole package feels rushed and reeks of uninspired work. At least give me some background historic facts about the games or maybe some online leaderboards. Even interviews with the creators would be great. It does have the name “Museum” in the title, right? A little love wouldn’t have hurt. Oh, it’s not like I love them fondly to begin with, but the Mii feature from “Remix” was kind of cute. But here, they removed it completely. Not enough space on the disk?

Conclusion

Ultimately, neither the five remixes (mind you, there’s truly just one remix that we haven’t seen before) or the classic games managed to get me interested enough to warrant a recommendation. Still, I would be surprised if a Wii gamer out there would still find the will to spend money on it. I mean, how many versions of Dig Dug can someone can have? I pray the gods not to see Namco Museum UltraMix next year.


Pros
+ Interesting provided you haven’t bought ANY Namco classics compilations
Cons
- I think you got the point...

Final rating
5.0 / 10
Comments
More Nintendo Wii reviews
2012-02-21 :: Rhythm Heaven Fever
2012-01-13 :: (WiiWare) Zombii Attack
2012-01-12 :: Fortune Street
2011-12-29 :: Rayman Origins
2011-12-07 :: Disney Universe
2011-04-29 :: The Conduit 2
2011-02-08 :: Mario Sports Mix
Special articles
The Crew Beta Impressions Special articles

The Crew Beta Impressions

The Crew’s console closed beta has concluded and it has given us a sneak peek into what we can expect to see upon its release on December 2nd.
Lire la suite...
Details From Nintendo's Holiday Preview Event Special articles

Details From Nintendo's Holiday Preview Event

  With the falling leaves, mayoral election signs still on the lawns and pumpkins on people’s front porches you’d be excused if you didn’t think it was time to celebrate the holidays. It was in this setting that Nintendo unveiled a preview of some of their holiday offerings on... Read more
Have you heard, NHL 15 is missing a few features? Special articles

Have you heard, NHL 15 is missing a few features?

I remember being thoroughly disappointed that last years NHL 14 was not going to appear on the Xbox One or the PS4.  Every other major North American sport received their next-generation iteration; hockey fans got the proverbial short end of the stick. But I believed that the NHL franchise was in good hands, if only for the quality the developers had shown in the series' previous entries, and if those developers needed an additional year to fine tune their game, great.  After playing the full game via EA Access early trial, I am worried again. Read more
The Forest: Exclusive Game Focus Interview Special articles

The Forest: Exclusive Game Focus Interview

  Earlier this week, Ben Falcone and Anna Terekhova, two of the three main developers of Endnight Games’ The Forest responded to some questions I had about the project and provided some insight into the development and what comes next.  I asked everything from whether or not The Forest would be released on the Xbox One or Playstation 4, what the developers were most worried about before release on Steam, to whether or not they could disclose any more details about The Forests ending.   Read more

Game details
Namco Museum Megamix
Release date : 2010-11-16
Platform :
Publisher : Namco Bandai
Developer : Namco
Gameplay : Platformer

DLC Talk

DLC Talk: Bioshock: Burial at Sea Ep. 1

DLC Talk: Bioshock: Burial at Sea Ep. 1

Here we are. The next generation of consoles is among us and it is finally time to start thinking about finally unplugging our beloved current-gen systems. Could there be a better swan song for one of these systems than taking a trip back to Rapture?


Read more

DLC Talk: Dishonored - The Knife of Dunwall

DLC Talk: Dishonored - The Knife of Dunwall

Dishonored: The Knife of Dunwall is an impressive little bit of DLC. I should emphasize “little” though, as it is a relatively short experience. Just when the story seems to get going it ends - or, rather, it “kind of” ends.


Read more

DLC Talk: Dragon’s Dogma: Dark Arisen

DLC Talk: Dragon’s Dogma: Dark Arisen

Dragon’s Dogma was released last year on PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360.


Read more
GF Blogs

Ode to The Olde Timey Video Game: Episode #1 The Greatest Golf Game Ever Made

Ode to The Olde Timey Video Game: Episode #1 The Greatest Golf Game Ever Made

Premier Episode of Ode to The Olde Timey Video Game.  In this video we scientifically prove what the greatest golf video game ever made is.  That's right, this title was released exactly ten years ago this week and in celebration we are taking a fond look back at what made this golf game the very best.


Read more

Why Microsoft buying Minecraft was a Brilliant Move

Why Microsoft buying Minecraft was a Brilliant Move

 

 

A lot has been made of Microsoft’s recent acquisition of Minecraft developer, Mojang.  Whether it be the Minecraft faithful who are worried about the future of the game now that it is in the hands of a massive corporation, or industry analysts speculating on how this new deal will change the video game marketplace, Microsoft fired a shot across across the bow today and, wow, was it shocking.


Read more

Gamefocus Feature: T'was the Night Before Gamescom

Gamefocus Feature: T'was the Night Before Gamescom

All eyes are on Cologne Germany for Gamescom 2014 as the biggest videogame industry event in Europe, second-largest gaming event in the world. (Game Show Asia is the largest in terms of attendance.), is set to begin.


Read more
GameFocus Radio

GameFocus Podcast: November 2014 Edition

GameFocus Podcast: November 2014 Edition

Call the optometrist because this time we are discussing how much resolution you need to enjoy your game. Also covered: what does Brenden have against the Master Chief, what are the holiday’s looking like for the consoles, and is Evolve all that it is cracking up to be? Finally, Donkey Kong Country, Gears of War, Left 4 Dead and Sunset Overdrive are all examined at length. 

Read more
GameFocus Radio

GameFocus Podcast: November 2014 Edition

GameFocus Podcast: November 2014 Edition

Call the optometrist because this time we are discussing how much resolution you need to enjoy your game. Also covered: what does Brenden have against the Master Chief, what are the holiday’s looking like for the consoles, and is Evolve all that it is cracking up to be? Finally, Donkey Kong Country, Gears of War, Left 4 Dead and Sunset Overdrive are all examined at length. 

Read more
GameFocus 2014 Top 10
2
Dark Souls II (Xbox 360)
9.1
3
Mario Kart 8 (Wii U)
9.1
4
9.0
5
Child of Light (Xbox One)
9.0
6
Tropico 5 (PC)
8.9
7
Forza Horizon 2 (Xbox One)
8.8
8
EA Sports UFC (Xbox One)
8.7
9
Watch Dogs (Xbox One)
8.5
10
8.5

facebook-follow-us

twitter1

 

Recent comments

Powered by Disqus