Review :: Namco Museum Megamix

Namco Museum Megamix

*sigh*

Written by Super User

Published Thursday, 02 December 2010 19:00

Write your own review !

You know what I hate about writing a review for a compilation title? Trying to find something positive to say when there’s clearly nothing great to mention. Like the Wii didn’t have enough compilation titles to offer as it is, Namco decided to take their entire 2007 Museum Mix pack (9 original games and five remixes), add an extra remixed game (Grobda) alongside the original versions of four of the the six “remixed” titles, dump five old games, slap the “Mega” prefix and call it good.

Okay, its not like the disc is filled with disappointments. There’s Pac-Mania, Dig-Dug II, the original Pac-Man and even obscure titles like King & Balloon and Bosconian, but as a whole, the simple thought of shedding money for games that we’ve seen countless times - either on the Wii or elsewhere - would make any gamer go blind. I don’t want to turn this review into an editorialized piece but when we have something called “Digital Download”, or in this case “Wii Shop”, why not save yourself printing costs and offer the games that no one has as downloadables? I mean, if someone already has Namco Museum Mix, they would basically pay $20 for five games. That’s $2.50 a game. Not too shabby at first sight but seriously, I have a hard time believing that this marketing contraption would actually lure in some victims...although I’ve been deceived more than once before.

I’ll give this to Namco: Releasing “Megamix” three years after “Remix” might sound like a service to the gamer who may have missed out on the first compilation and couldn’t find it anywhere else. But seriously, the whole package feels rushed and reeks of uninspired work. At least give me some background historic facts about the games or maybe some online leaderboards. Even interviews with the creators would be great. It does have the name “Museum” in the title, right? A little love wouldn’t have hurt. Oh, it’s not like I love them fondly to begin with, but the Mii feature from “Remix” was kind of cute. But here, they removed it completely. Not enough space on the disk?

Conclusion

Ultimately, neither the five remixes (mind you, there’s truly just one remix that we haven’t seen before) or the classic games managed to get me interested enough to warrant a recommendation. Still, I would be surprised if a Wii gamer out there would still find the will to spend money on it. I mean, how many versions of Dig Dug can someone can have? I pray the gods not to see Namco Museum UltraMix next year.


Pros
+ Interesting provided you haven’t bought ANY Namco classics compilations
Cons
- I think you got the point...

Final rating
5.0 / 10
Comments
More Nintendo Wii reviews
2012-02-20 :: Rhythm Heaven Fever
2012-01-12 :: (WiiWare) Zombii Attack
2012-01-11 :: Fortune Street
2011-12-28 :: Rayman Origins
2011-12-06 :: Disney Universe
2011-04-28 :: The Conduit 2
2011-02-07 :: Mario Sports Mix
Special articles
Evolve Toronto Launch Event Special articles

Evolve Toronto Launch Event

Last night as the clock ticked down to the midnight release of the highly anticipated 4v1 monster hunting extravaganza known as Evolve, Xbox and EB Games threw a launch party in Toronto to celebrate the game's imminent release.  Attendees stepped off the sixth floor elevator and were instantly greeted with some thick foliage and monster footprints.  It appeared that the downtown loft space had been magically transformed to the planet Shear, complete with staff decked out in garb ready for some big game hunting.  Ammon belts, camo and other accessories straight from Ted Nugent's closet were the threads and animal skulls, furs and weaponry adorned the walls. 
Lire la suite...
Why Buying Amiibo Might Be A Bad Idea Special articles

Why Buying Amiibo Might Be A Bad Idea

When Nintendo first revealed Amiibo back at E3 2014, many fans of the company were quick to chomp at the idea of the connected figurine line. Skylanders was a hit. Disney Infinity was a hit. Nintendo wanted a piece of the interactive action and they dove in head first. Read more
GameFocus' Most Anticipated Games of 2015 Special articles

GameFocus' Most Anticipated Games of 2015

With the start of a new year, the gaming slate is as pure as the driven snow and full of promise and expectation. Here at GameFocus we thought we would share some of the games we are stoked to get our hands on in 2015. Will this bumper crop of intriguing titles entice, disappoint or be delayed (as was common with our 2014 picks)? Only time will tell. Happy gaming this year. Read more
GameFocus Feature: Warlords of Draenor and the Clint Bajakian Connection Special articles

GameFocus Feature: Warlords of Draenor and the Clint Bajakian Connection

Music can make or break a movie. The same could be said for videogames. For the last 30 some odd years, as videogames have slowly crept their way into the main stream, we have been beholden to some truly memorable musical contributions that enhance the immersive experience that make video games stand out among entertainment mediums. Read more

Game details
Namco Museum Megamix
Release date : 2010-11-16
Platform :
Publisher : Namco Bandai
Developer : Namco
Gameplay : Platformer

DLC Talk

DLC Talk: Bioshock: Burial at Sea Ep. 1

DLC Talk: Bioshock: Burial at Sea Ep. 1

Here we are. The next generation of consoles is among us and it is finally time to start thinking about finally unplugging our beloved current-gen systems. Could there be a better swan song for one of these systems than taking a trip back to Rapture?


Read more

DLC Talk: Dishonored - The Knife of Dunwall

DLC Talk: Dishonored - The Knife of Dunwall

Dishonored: The Knife of Dunwall is an impressive little bit of DLC. I should emphasize “little” though, as it is a relatively short experience. Just when the story seems to get going it ends - or, rather, it “kind of” ends.


Read more

DLC Talk: Dragon’s Dogma: Dark Arisen

DLC Talk: Dragon’s Dogma: Dark Arisen

Dragon’s Dogma was released last year on PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360.


Read more
GF Blogs

5 Games to Play with the One You Love

5 Games to Play with the One You Love

Stumped on how to incorperate your love of games and the love of your life into one sweet Valentines's day package? We've got your back with 5 games sure to help you maximize the loving you deserve. 


Read more

A New Challenger Approaches

A New Challenger Approaches

With the exception of the Virtual Boy I've owned every gaming system released by Nintendo.  I considered myself well-versed in what the company had to offer until I started hearing about amiibos.   The official website didn't help clear up my confusion.  "Discover the Power Inside" greets vistors upon arrival. Inside of what?  Do the amiibos do something?  Can they move around like animatronic robots or are they Nintendo's real life version of chibi-robo?


Read more

The World’s Top Beers To Enjoy While Playing Classic Video Games

The World’s Top Beers To Enjoy While Playing Classic Video Games

Note: This blog posting in no way condones the excessive drinking of alcohol. If you are of legal age in your country please drink responsibly.

“Door bells and sleigh bells and schnitzel and noodles” are listed as a couple of the Maria von Trapp’s favorite things in The Sound of Music. My tastes are a little more pedestrian as two of my favorite things are video games, artisan beer and non-artisan beer. Given that, I thought it a good idea to share what I feel are some of the best beer pairings that go down smooth with some of my favorite video games.


Read more
GameFocus Radio

GameFocus Podcast: February 2015

GameFocus Podcast: February 2015

This time the guys pick the movies they would like to see made into feature films. Is Mass Effect ready for the Silver Screen? What are Bruce Willis and Jamie Foxx up to? We also talk about the pros and cons of pre-orders, why we want to see a statue before laying down some fat stacks, and did Sherlock Holmes do some computer hacking in his day. Add some thoughts of the perks of joining a Drive Club and examining why Life Is Strange and you have this month's podcast.

Read more
GameFocus Radio

GameFocus Podcast: February 2015

GameFocus Podcast: February 2015

This time the guys pick the movies they would like to see made into feature films. Is Mass Effect ready for the Silver Screen? What are Bruce Willis and Jamie Foxx up to? We also talk about the pros and cons of pre-orders, why we want to see a statue before laying down some fat stacks, and did Sherlock Holmes do some computer hacking in his day. Add some thoughts of the perks of joining a Drive Club and examining why Life Is Strange and you have this month's podcast.

Read more
GameFocus 2015 Top 10
1
Apotheon (PC)
9.4
2
Splice (PlayStation 4)
8.4
3
7.8
5
6.6

facebook-follow-us

twitter1

 

Recent comments

Powered by Disqus