Review :: Namco Museum Megamix

Namco Museum Megamix

*sigh*

Written by Super User

Published Thursday, 02 December 2010 19:00

Write your own review !

You know what I hate about writing a review for a compilation title? Trying to find something positive to say when there’s clearly nothing great to mention. Like the Wii didn’t have enough compilation titles to offer as it is, Namco decided to take their entire 2007 Museum Mix pack (9 original games and five remixes), add an extra remixed game (Grobda) alongside the original versions of four of the the six “remixed” titles, dump five old games, slap the “Mega” prefix and call it good.

Okay, its not like the disc is filled with disappointments. There’s Pac-Mania, Dig-Dug II, the original Pac-Man and even obscure titles like King & Balloon and Bosconian, but as a whole, the simple thought of shedding money for games that we’ve seen countless times - either on the Wii or elsewhere - would make any gamer go blind. I don’t want to turn this review into an editorialized piece but when we have something called “Digital Download”, or in this case “Wii Shop”, why not save yourself printing costs and offer the games that no one has as downloadables? I mean, if someone already has Namco Museum Mix, they would basically pay $20 for five games. That’s $2.50 a game. Not too shabby at first sight but seriously, I have a hard time believing that this marketing contraption would actually lure in some victims...although I’ve been deceived more than once before.

I’ll give this to Namco: Releasing “Megamix” three years after “Remix” might sound like a service to the gamer who may have missed out on the first compilation and couldn’t find it anywhere else. But seriously, the whole package feels rushed and reeks of uninspired work. At least give me some background historic facts about the games or maybe some online leaderboards. Even interviews with the creators would be great. It does have the name “Museum” in the title, right? A little love wouldn’t have hurt. Oh, it’s not like I love them fondly to begin with, but the Mii feature from “Remix” was kind of cute. But here, they removed it completely. Not enough space on the disk?

Conclusion

Ultimately, neither the five remixes (mind you, there’s truly just one remix that we haven’t seen before) or the classic games managed to get me interested enough to warrant a recommendation. Still, I would be surprised if a Wii gamer out there would still find the will to spend money on it. I mean, how many versions of Dig Dug can someone can have? I pray the gods not to see Namco Museum UltraMix next year.


Pros
+ Interesting provided you haven’t bought ANY Namco classics compilations
Cons
- I think you got the point...

Final rating
5.0 / 10
Comments
More Nintendo Wii reviews
2012-02-20 :: Rhythm Heaven Fever
2012-01-12 :: (WiiWare) Zombii Attack
2012-01-11 :: Fortune Street
2011-12-28 :: Rayman Origins
2011-12-06 :: Disney Universe
2011-04-28 :: The Conduit 2
2011-02-07 :: Mario Sports Mix
Special articles
#E32015 Predictions: Tyler Hodgkinson Special articles

#E32015 Predictions: Tyler Hodgkinson

With #E32015 nearly upon us, rumours and reports are running ramped about what will or will not see at the conference. So what do the fine folks at GameFocus predict? Take a look for yourself and see!
Lire la suite...
#E32015 Predictions: Nolan Forth Special articles

#E32015 Predictions: Nolan Forth

With #E32015 nearly upon us, rumours and reports are running ramped about what will or will not see at the conference. So what do the fine folks at GameFocus predict? Take a look for yourself and see! Read more
#E32015 Predictions: Jesse Vuksanovich Special articles

#E32015 Predictions: Jesse Vuksanovich

With #E32015 nearly upon us, rumours and reports are runnning rampid about what will or will not see at the conference. So what do the fine folks at GameFocus predict? Take a look for yourself and see! Read more
Stage Select Gaming Expo - Toronto's Future Answer to E3? Special articles

Stage Select Gaming Expo - Toronto's Future Answer to E3?

With E3 generating a massive amount of buzz in the week leading up to the big event, I thought I'd take a moment and talk about the smaller but growing momentum of Toronto's own gaming conference - Stage Select Gaming Expo.  Read more

Game details
Namco Museum Megamix
Release date : 2010-11-16
Platform :
Publisher : Namco Bandai
Developer : Namco
Gameplay : Platformer

GameFocus High Fives

GameFocus High Fives Canada Day Bonus Edition

GameFocus High Fives Canada Day Bonus Edition

Happy Canada Day! Bonne fête du Canada! We here at GameFocus hope you’re celebrating the enactment of the British North American Act (Constitution Act) in style. GameFocus would like to join in the revelry by posting a very special High Fives article with a Canadian twist:

Top 5 Canadian Characters in Video Games

If you’re a gamer from the Great White North it can seem like maybe Canadian representation in video games is a little sparse. Take heart fellow Canucks, we here at GameFocus are here to tell you that some of the baddest and raddest characters in gaming call Canada home and it is our pleasure to present to you our top 5!


Read more

GameFocus High Fives, June - D.J.

GameFocus High Fives, June - D.J.

There is arguably no other aspect of gaming that is more underappreciated than the Non Player Character (NPC). Serving as companions, quest givers, plot devices and more; they have been an integral aspect of our favourite games and have evolved right alongside gaming itself over the decades.  For the month of June, the GameFocus Staff will be celebrate all things NPC by listing 5 of their favourite or most under-rated non-player characters in games.

D.J. Kinsey - Assistant Editor-in-Chief


Read more

GameFocus High Fives, June 2015 - Tyler

GameFocus High Fives, June 2015 - Tyler

There is arguably no other aspect of gaming that is more underappreciated than the Non Player Character (NPC). Serving as companions, quest givers, plot devices and more; they have been an integral aspect of our favourite games and have evolved right alongside gaming itself over the decades.  For the month of June, the GameFocus Staff will be celebrate all things NPC by listing 5 of their favourite or most under-rated non-player characters in games.

Tyler Hodgkinson - Staff Writer


Read more
DLC Talk

DLC Talk: Bioshock: Burial at Sea Ep. 1

DLC Talk: Bioshock: Burial at Sea Ep. 1

Here we are. The next generation of consoles is among us and it is finally time to start thinking about finally unplugging our beloved current-gen systems. Could there be a better swan song for one of these systems than taking a trip back to Rapture?


Read more
First Impressions

Injustice: Gods Among Us

Injustice: Gods Among Us
Injustice: Gods Among Us, the upcoming DC fighting game by NetherRealm Studios, is set to be released on April 16th. Even though the release date is just around the corner, they continue to announce additional characters that will be playable upon release, as well as alternate costumes for numerous ... Lire la suite...

More previews
GF Blogs

Summer Gaming Guide: What to Play

Summer Gaming Guide: What to Play

Whether it’s a rainy day, a sickness, or some other reason not to go outside and enjoy the beautiful summer air, video games are the perfect way to spend your time - that is, if you can find a game to play. In terms of releases, summer generally isn’t the most fruitful of seasons, and this year is no different. So what games could/should you be sinking your teeth into during the dog days?  


Read more

The Last Guardian Will NOT Appear at #E32015 and Here's the Reason Why...

The Last Guardian Will NOT Appear at #E32015 and Here's the Reason Why...

Since its reveal at E3 2009, The Last Guardian has not resurfaced other than in rumours and in statements regarding said rumours. Sony admits to major studio problems during the game’s development, but constantly reassures those anticipating the game that it is still not, and will not, be canceled. So is this the year that we finally see the resurrection of The Last Guardian? In my opinion, the answer is a big fat NO.


Read more

A Few Good Reasons for Grounding Players in WOW

A Few Good Reasons for Grounding Players in WOW

Getting my first mount in World of Warcraft was a major milestone. It came at a time before Blizzard reduced the cost of training for a ground mount and the gold required seemed like an impossible sum when quests were doling out a few coppers. What's more, I was foolishly selling my gathered iron or mithril to in-game vendors rather than placing it up for auction. I won't get into the particulars of my moneymaking strategy but I will say that it wasn't effective and very indicative of my n00b status.


Read more
GameFocus Radio

GameFocus Podcast: May 2015

GameFocus Podcast: May 2015

This time the guys weigh in on how much money they would lay down for some bat-DLC.  We keep the superhero theme running with the best games featuring men and women in colourful tights.  Things round out with a list of the games with the greatest endings ever and finally, a look at the Mortal Kombat family tree and the joy of running an island dictatorship.

Read more
GameFocus Radio

GameFocus Podcast: May 2015

GameFocus Podcast: May 2015

This time the guys weigh in on how much money they would lay down for some bat-DLC.  We keep the superhero theme running with the best games featuring men and women in colourful tights.  Things round out with a list of the games with the greatest endings ever and finally, a look at the Mortal Kombat family tree and the joy of running an island dictatorship.

Read more
GameFocus 2015 Top 10
1
Apotheon (PC)
9.4
2
Splatoon (Wii U)
8.6
3
Splice (PlayStation 4)
8.4
4
Hand of Fate (Xbox One)
8.0
5
8.0
6
Toren (PlayStation 4)
8.0
7
7.8
9
Dead or Alive 5 Last Round (PlayStation 4)
7.7
10
6.6

facebook-follow-us

twitter1

 

Recent comments

Powered by Disqus