Review :: Namco Museum Megamix

Namco Museum Megamix

*sigh*

Written by Super User

Published Thursday, 02 December 2010 19:00

Write your own review !

You know what I hate about writing a review for a compilation title? Trying to find something positive to say when there’s clearly nothing great to mention. Like the Wii didn’t have enough compilation titles to offer as it is, Namco decided to take their entire 2007 Museum Mix pack (9 original games and five remixes), add an extra remixed game (Grobda) alongside the original versions of four of the the six “remixed” titles, dump five old games, slap the “Mega” prefix and call it good.

Okay, its not like the disc is filled with disappointments. There’s Pac-Mania, Dig-Dug II, the original Pac-Man and even obscure titles like King & Balloon and Bosconian, but as a whole, the simple thought of shedding money for games that we’ve seen countless times - either on the Wii or elsewhere - would make any gamer go blind. I don’t want to turn this review into an editorialized piece but when we have something called “Digital Download”, or in this case “Wii Shop”, why not save yourself printing costs and offer the games that no one has as downloadables? I mean, if someone already has Namco Museum Mix, they would basically pay $20 for five games. That’s $2.50 a game. Not too shabby at first sight but seriously, I have a hard time believing that this marketing contraption would actually lure in some victims...although I’ve been deceived more than once before.

I’ll give this to Namco: Releasing “Megamix” three years after “Remix” might sound like a service to the gamer who may have missed out on the first compilation and couldn’t find it anywhere else. But seriously, the whole package feels rushed and reeks of uninspired work. At least give me some background historic facts about the games or maybe some online leaderboards. Even interviews with the creators would be great. It does have the name “Museum” in the title, right? A little love wouldn’t have hurt. Oh, it’s not like I love them fondly to begin with, but the Mii feature from “Remix” was kind of cute. But here, they removed it completely. Not enough space on the disk?

Conclusion

Ultimately, neither the five remixes (mind you, there’s truly just one remix that we haven’t seen before) or the classic games managed to get me interested enough to warrant a recommendation. Still, I would be surprised if a Wii gamer out there would still find the will to spend money on it. I mean, how many versions of Dig Dug can someone can have? I pray the gods not to see Namco Museum UltraMix next year.


Pros
+ Interesting provided you haven’t bought ANY Namco classics compilations
Cons
- I think you got the point...

Final rating
5.0 / 10
Comments
More Nintendo Wii reviews
2012-02-20 :: Rhythm Heaven Fever
2012-01-12 :: (WiiWare) Zombii Attack
2012-01-11 :: Fortune Street
2011-12-28 :: Rayman Origins
2011-12-06 :: Disney Universe
2011-04-28 :: The Conduit 2
2011-02-07 :: Mario Sports Mix
Special articles
The 10 Types of Gamers Special articles

The 10 Types of Gamers

  This list isn’t to marginalize a particular group of Gamers but rather to celebrate our differences.  Also, I don’t think it’s possible to be just one type of gamer either, you can be all sorts.  So enjoy my list of the “10 Types of Gamers” and let me know if I missed one or what type of gamer you are in the comments section below!
Lire la suite...
The Best and The Worst: Titanfall Maps Special articles

The Best and The Worst: Titanfall Maps

Since everybody loves lists and since everybody also loves Titanfall, I thought it was pertinent that I combine these two equally loved things together.  And since maps are one of the key ingredients in a first-person shooter, I felt that would be a good place to start: Read more
More with Titanfall's Lead Game Director Steve Fukuda Special articles

More with Titanfall's Lead Game Director Steve Fukuda

 Last week Andrew Atkinson posted a great piece on the interview he and I had with Titanfall’s Lead Game Director, Steve Fukuda.  I thought I would follow up with some more little bits of information we were able to gather from Mr. Fukuda detailing what’s in store for Titanfall in the future: Read more
Five Things we Learned from 'Titanfall' Lead Developer Steve Fukuda Special articles

Five Things we Learned from 'Titanfall' Lead Developer Steve Fukuda

Gamefocus recently had the chance to chat with Steve Fukuda, lead game developer for Titanfall at Respawn.  Fukuda was lead designer at Infinity Ward where he was a major player in the production of the Call of Duty series up until Modern Warfare 2.  Brenden Mernagh and I arranged to speak with Fukuda at the Titanfalllaunch party in Toronto. Read more

Game details
Namco Museum Megamix
Release date : 2010-11-16
Platform :
Publisher : Namco Bandai
Developer : Namco
Gameplay : Platformer

DLC Talk

DLC Talk: Bioshock: Burial at Sea Ep. 1

DLC Talk: Bioshock: Burial at Sea Ep. 1

Here we are. The next generation of consoles is among us and it is finally time to start thinking about finally unplugging our beloved current-gen systems. Could there be a better swan song for one of these systems than taking a trip back to Rapture?


Read more

DLC Talk: Dishonored - The Knife of Dunwall

DLC Talk: Dishonored - The Knife of Dunwall

Dishonored: The Knife of Dunwall is an impressive little bit of DLC. I should emphasize “little” though, as it is a relatively short experience. Just when the story seems to get going it ends - or, rather, it “kind of” ends.


Read more

DLC Talk: Dragon’s Dogma: Dark Arisen

DLC Talk: Dragon’s Dogma: Dark Arisen

Dragon’s Dogma was released last year on PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360.


Read more
GF Blogs

Rage Against The Exploding Barrel

Rage Against The Exploding Barrel

In the year 1981 a decision was made which would forever alter the face of video games as we know them. A young gorilla named Donkey Kong was throwing wooden barrels at a spunky little plumber named Mario. What happened next influenced the level design and gameplay of most FPS and adventure games since.


Read more

Why Super Nintendo VS Sega Genesis is a lot like PS4 VS Xbox One

Why Super Nintendo VS Sega Genesis is a lot like PS4 VS Xbox One

The video game press and blogosphere didn’t really know what to make of the Playstation 4 and the Xbox One when they were announced last year.  Most of this confusion seemed to stem from the fact that no one really knew for sure if these next-generation video game consoles would offer the player anything new.  Yes, there would be better graphics, better online functionality, a better multimedia experience, and a better controller, but would that be it?


Read more

'Goat Simulator' is Live! You can Virtually Live as a Goat!

'Goat Simulator' is Live! You can Virtually Live as a Goat!

I’ve often thought that what the animal rights movement really needs are some rocking simulations of animal life.  I’m not sure Goat Simulator will offer that (I’m still downloading it), but think about this: imagine teaching a grade seven science class where you hook your students up to Oculus Rift VR sets, fix them with some haptic arm and leg bands, and send them out to join a wolf pack stalking caribou in the arctic tundra (Dire Wolf!).


Read more
GameFocus Radio

GameFocus Podcast: December 16, 2013

GameFocus Podcast: December 16, 2013

Game Focus is proud to present its new podcast episode, a weekly casual talk between GameFocus staff members about the gaming industry. In this show, we talk about mostly the Xbox One and the PS4. Vince explains in details what happened when he reached Microsoft support for a problem with his Xbox One that unexpectedly died after less than 2 days of use.

Read more
GameFocus 2014 Top 10
2
Dark Souls II (Xbox 360)
9.1
3
9.0
5
Thief (PlayStation 4)
7.5
6
Madden NFL 25 (Xbox One)
7.4
7
Powerstar Golf (Xbox One)
5.8
8
4.0

facebook-follow-us

twitter1

 

Recent comments

Powered by Disqus