Review :: Namco Museum Megamix

Namco Museum Megamix

*sigh*

Written by Super User

Published Thursday, 02 December 2010 19:00

Write your own review !

You know what I hate about writing a review for a compilation title? Trying to find something positive to say when there’s clearly nothing great to mention. Like the Wii didn’t have enough compilation titles to offer as it is, Namco decided to take their entire 2007 Museum Mix pack (9 original games and five remixes), add an extra remixed game (Grobda) alongside the original versions of four of the the six “remixed” titles, dump five old games, slap the “Mega” prefix and call it good.

Okay, its not like the disc is filled with disappointments. There’s Pac-Mania, Dig-Dug II, the original Pac-Man and even obscure titles like King & Balloon and Bosconian, but as a whole, the simple thought of shedding money for games that we’ve seen countless times - either on the Wii or elsewhere - would make any gamer go blind. I don’t want to turn this review into an editorialized piece but when we have something called “Digital Download”, or in this case “Wii Shop”, why not save yourself printing costs and offer the games that no one has as downloadables? I mean, if someone already has Namco Museum Mix, they would basically pay $20 for five games. That’s $2.50 a game. Not too shabby at first sight but seriously, I have a hard time believing that this marketing contraption would actually lure in some victims...although I’ve been deceived more than once before.

I’ll give this to Namco: Releasing “Megamix” three years after “Remix” might sound like a service to the gamer who may have missed out on the first compilation and couldn’t find it anywhere else. But seriously, the whole package feels rushed and reeks of uninspired work. At least give me some background historic facts about the games or maybe some online leaderboards. Even interviews with the creators would be great. It does have the name “Museum” in the title, right? A little love wouldn’t have hurt. Oh, it’s not like I love them fondly to begin with, but the Mii feature from “Remix” was kind of cute. But here, they removed it completely. Not enough space on the disk?

Conclusion

Ultimately, neither the five remixes (mind you, there’s truly just one remix that we haven’t seen before) or the classic games managed to get me interested enough to warrant a recommendation. Still, I would be surprised if a Wii gamer out there would still find the will to spend money on it. I mean, how many versions of Dig Dug can someone can have? I pray the gods not to see Namco Museum UltraMix next year.


Pros
+ Interesting provided you haven’t bought ANY Namco classics compilations
Cons
- I think you got the point...

Final rating
5.0 / 10
Comments
More Nintendo Wii reviews
2012-02-20 :: Rhythm Heaven Fever
2012-01-12 :: (WiiWare) Zombii Attack
2012-01-11 :: Fortune Street
2011-12-28 :: Rayman Origins
2011-12-06 :: Disney Universe
2011-04-28 :: The Conduit 2
2011-02-07 :: Mario Sports Mix
Special articles
GameFocus' Most Anticipated Games of 2015 Special articles

GameFocus' Most Anticipated Games of 2015

With the start of a new year, the gaming slate is as pure as the driven snow and full of promise and expectation. Here at GameFocus we thought we would share some of the games we are stoked to get our hands on in 2015. Will this bumper crop of intriguing titles entice, disappoint or be delayed (as was common with our 2014 picks)? Only time will tell. Happy gaming this year. Read more
GameFocus Feature: Warlords of Draenor and the Clint Bajakian Connection Special articles

GameFocus Feature: Warlords of Draenor and the Clint Bajakian Connection

Music can make or break a movie. The same could be said for videogames. For the last 30 some odd years, as videogames have slowly crept their way into the main stream, we have been beholden to some truly memorable musical contributions that enhance the immersive experience that make video games stand out among entertainment mediums. Imagine the classics like Super Mario without the original level 1-1 theme, or the Mega Man franchise without its awesome 8 bit power ballads. It can’t be done. The same holds true for modern games; imagine the first Mass Effect without the 80’s Sci-Fi movie synth, or Uncharted without the adventurous sounding fanfare. Music and sound design are an integral part of any complete video game package, and game expansions are no exception. Thanks to the involvement of Pyramind Studios Composer and Senior Music Manager Clint Bajakian and his team, World of Warcraft: Warlords of Draenor can count itself up there in the echelon of titles whose OST are worth a second look. Read more
The Crew Beta Impressions Special articles

The Crew Beta Impressions

The Crew’s console closed beta has concluded and it has given us a sneak peek into what we can expect to see upon its release on December 2nd.Read more

Game details
Namco Museum Megamix
Release date : 2010-11-16
Platform :
Publisher : Namco Bandai
Developer : Namco
Gameplay : Platformer

DLC Talk

DLC Talk: Bioshock: Burial at Sea Ep. 1

DLC Talk: Bioshock: Burial at Sea Ep. 1

Here we are. The next generation of consoles is among us and it is finally time to start thinking about finally unplugging our beloved current-gen systems. Could there be a better swan song for one of these systems than taking a trip back to Rapture?


Read more

DLC Talk: Dishonored - The Knife of Dunwall

DLC Talk: Dishonored - The Knife of Dunwall

Dishonored: The Knife of Dunwall is an impressive little bit of DLC. I should emphasize “little” though, as it is a relatively short experience. Just when the story seems to get going it ends - or, rather, it “kind of” ends.


Read more

DLC Talk: Dragon’s Dogma: Dark Arisen

DLC Talk: Dragon’s Dogma: Dark Arisen

Dragon’s Dogma was released last year on PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360.


Read more
GF Blogs

Opinion text: Why Gamers Need to let Games go.

Opinion text: Why Gamers Need to let Games go.

Editor's Note:This text is labelled as blog. It does not represent, implicitly or explicitly, the positions, policies, or opinions of GameFocus. Feel free to comment with the author but please, respectfully .


Read more

Ode to The Olde Timey Video Game: Episode #1 The Greatest Golf Game Ever Made

Ode to The Olde Timey Video Game: Episode #1 The Greatest Golf Game Ever Made

Premier Episode of Ode to The Olde Timey Video Game.  In this video we scientifically prove what the greatest golf video game ever made is.  That's right, this title was released exactly ten years ago this week and in celebration we are taking a fond look back at what made this golf game the very best.


Read more

Why Microsoft buying Minecraft was a Brilliant Move

Why Microsoft buying Minecraft was a Brilliant Move

 

 

A lot has been made of Microsoft’s recent acquisition of Minecraft developer, Mojang.  Whether it be the Minecraft faithful who are worried about the future of the game now that it is in the hands of a massive corporation, or industry analysts speculating on how this new deal will change the video game marketplace, Microsoft fired a shot across across the bow today and, wow, was it shocking.


Read more
GameFocus Radio

GameFocus Podcast: January 2015

GameFocus Podcast: January 2015

Break out the bubbly because it is the first podcast of the New Year. In this episode the guys look back at the surprises and disappointments of 2014 and relay their thoughts on the year's top games. They also crack out the crystal ball to give their predictions for the upcoming year. Nolan gives his first impressions on his Amiibos, we learn the connection between Heath Ledger, Julia Stiles and Henry Winkler and what video game related Netflix content we do and do not recommend. All this plus a complicated calculation of DJ's deaths per minute played in The Evil Within and more wrapped up in a Reese's peanut butter cup of listening entertainment.

Read more
GameFocus Radio

GameFocus Podcast: January 2015

GameFocus Podcast: January 2015

Break out the bubbly because it is the first podcast of the New Year. In this episode the guys look back at the surprises and disappointments of 2014 and relay their thoughts on the year's top games. They also crack out the crystal ball to give their predictions for the upcoming year. Nolan gives his first impressions on his Amiibos, we learn the connection between Heath Ledger, Julia Stiles and Henry Winkler and what video game related Netflix content we do and do not recommend. All this plus a complicated calculation of DJ's deaths per minute played in The Evil Within and more wrapped up in a Reese's peanut butter cup of listening entertainment.

Read more
GameFocus 2015 Top 10
1
7.8

facebook-follow-us

twitter1

 

Recent comments

Powered by Disqus